Arkansas

Eyewitness Identification Reform

In 2012, the Arkansas Association of Chiefs of Police (AACP) released a model policy for eyewitness identification procedures. The model policy includes: blind administration, proper use of fillers, proper instructions to the witness, and witness confidence statements. The AACP policy also includes procedure for show up identifications. Adopted: 2012.

Read the AACP policy

Recording of Interrogations

Arkansas has no state law requiring recorded interrogations.

Post Conviction DNA Testing

Any person convicted of a crime may file a petition for post-conviction DNA testing with the court where the conviction occurred. There is no time limitation. However, the person can't apply when a direct appeal is available. Effective: 2001; Amended most recently: 2005.

Read the statute

Evidence Preservation

State statute requires the automatic preservation of any physical evidence upon a person’s conviction for a sex offense, violent offense, or a felony where the defendant's DNA is taken for the state's database. Law enforcement will preserve this evidence permanently following any conviction for a violent offense, 25 years following a conviction for a sex offense, or 7 years following a conviction for any other felony for which the defendant's genetic profile may be taken by a law enforcement agency and submitted for a comparison to the state DNA database for unsolved offenses (whichever is longer). Effective 2001; Amended most recently 2011.

Arkansas's statute meets the best practices standards outlined by the NIST Technical Working Group on Biological Evidence Preservation.

Read the statute

Exoneree Compensation

Arkansas has no exoneree compensation law.

How is your state doing?

Press "Enter" or click on the arrow to show results.

Search