Forensic Science Oversight in Texas

The Texas Forensic Science Commission was originally created by state statute in 2005 and later modified by the legislature a few different times. The Forensic Science Commission is tasked with: establishing procedures, policies, and practices to improve the quality of forensic analyses in Texas; investigating allegations of professional negligence or misconduct at laboratories in the state and maintaining a system for laboratories to report such incidents; investigating complaints involving forensic disciplines; initiating investigations into forensic analysis to advance the integrity and reliability of forensic science in Texas; accrediting crime laboratories and other forensic analysis entities; and establishing a forensic analyst licensing program. The Forensic Science Commission has nine members all appointed by the Governor — seven are scientists and two are attorneys. Effective: 2005. Amended most recently: 2019.

Read the statute.